Kestrel's Musings

Rambles and explorations from this perspective.

Ode to Pinnacles National Monument

This was written soon after arrival, spring break 2010.  I was taken by the nature magic there and immediately began writing this on their NPS map/brochure.   http://www.nps.gov/pinn/index.htm

Walking with a smile thinking, “I love Pinnacles.”  I love Pinnacles like I love hot drink in the morning.  I love Pinnacles like I love a celebration with friends.  I love Pinnacles like I love that bobcat that just popped out of the shrub and onto the log while I walk day dreaming about how much I love Pinnacles.  I love Pinnacles like I love the sense of letting go and the sense of wholeness – of completeness.  Like I love feeling satisfied and full.  I love Pinnacles like I love seeing that adult Condor soaring overhead soon after I step out of my car immediately upon arrival.  I love Pinnacles like I love the gift of life and laughter.  Like I love the blessing of these great folks I’ve met, and the conversation that has freed me, where I freed me, to be.  I love Pinnacles.

UPDATE: Congratulations Pinnacles! Pinnacles National Monument is now the United States 59th National Park.
http://sanfrancisco.cbslocal.com/2013/01/11/pinnacles-national-monument-officially-becomes-national-park/

Author: Kestrel

Kestrel identifies as a naturalist, Yosemite Interpreter, guide, outdoor educator, science teacher, friend, music lover, auntie extraordinaire, adventurer for birds, and fellow sojourner on this big blue marble. Out there she strives to live life most generously and satisfyingly. Here she endeavors to share what rolls around the heart and grey matter...

Comments are closed.